Skip to content

LOVE & PURPOSE!

February 23, 2015

Love and Purpose

I write this little love letter to you at a costly risk that my boss my just see it and I might get fired (hahahaha).

We all (most of us anyway), enjoy listening to motivational speakers and/or reading self-help books. Because these things boost our egos, challenge us and makes us look at life from a different, clearer window. However, what these things do for you is tell you things that you already know. It’s stuff you know that you tend to forget, and their job is just to remind you and motivate you to take the next step and push yourself. So what I am writing to you right now, is not something that’s new to you, it’s something you either already know cause you know it, or something you know because you heard it somewhere, or maybe this might just be a light bulb moment in your life.

One of the biggest questions that people ask themselves in life is “why am I here? What is my purpose in life?” Mark Twain quotes, “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”

Your purpose lies in whatever it is that you love doing! We all have something that we enjoy doing, things we do with our eyes closed. Things we do daily even if we don’t even get paid for it. Think about it… what is that thing you REALLY LOVE DOING?

If you are struggling to find your life’s purpose here’s how:

Make a list of the things you do naturally without even thinking about it. EG: an eye for detail, a great sense of humor, a nurturing side, the ability to focus intently, or being playful. These are your genius. Genius comes easily and profoundly, without needing to expend a lot of energy. Some people are geniuses at math or music; but there are lots of other types of genius as well. There are genius mothers, genius teachers, genius listeners, and genius independent thinkers. We are meant to use our genius in service of our Life Purpose.

Make a list of the things you do for fun, or that you really enjoy. Include in the list the parts of your job that you really like, the things you volunteer for, sports, the arts, reading, singing, coaching, speaking in public etc. Imagine you’re a billionaire with no worries about money, how would you choose to spend your time? Add those things to the list, even if you don’t do them now. This list is of your passions; the things that you love to do, or would do simply for the pleasure they bring you.

Somewhere in your genius and your passions is your purpose. The trick is to pursue them to get to the end goal – PURPOSE!

Let me use myself as an example. I love physical activity and being in the outdoors; I love planning and organizing parties/trips/events etc. It’s my passion. I love reading and writing it’s my genius. I do these seamlessly without being asked to do them. I do them, and I don’t get paid for them (not yet anyway – LOL). People around me are always asking me, “Why don’t you open an adventure company,” (tick, that’s done) or “why don’t you write a book/s,” (yeah yeah! It’s coming its coming).

I have a 9-5 job that does not fulfill any of the above from a passion point of view. Yes I’m pretty good at what I do, but I’m certain if I was really passionate about it, I would be further than I am right now career wise (this is the part you must not show my boss.) But in not being in-love with my career, and merely in-like with it, I still believe in maintaining a spirit of excellence. In all that you do, whether you like it or not – DO IT WITH EXCELLENCE!
The greatness in the men in the Bible also stemmed from what their genius’ and passions.
• Moses was a shepherd in the desert for 40 years, before he was called to free the children of Israel from Egypt. He went from tending sheep-sheep in the desert, to tending human-sheep in the desert.
• David was a shepherd boy-come king. He also went from tending and protecting sheep to tending and protecting nations.
• Joseph went from being a prisoner, practiced how to be reliable and efficient to becoming second in command to a foreign people.
• Paul went from a persecutor to knowing what it’s like to be persecuted.

You can’t achieve your dream by staying comfy. You can’t fulfill yourself doing what everyone expects. Stop listening to naysayers. And start listening to yourself with God’s guidance. Follow your passion. Cultivate it and learn about it in every chance you get. Go ahead. Fire up your passion!

In the words of Steve Maraboli, “You were put on this earth to achieve your greatest self, to live out your purpose, and to do it courageously.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

