Skip to content

GOD IS EVERYTHING!

March 2, 2015

god-is-my-everything

In the latter part of last year I faced a challenging period in my life. You know when everything falls apart all at the same time. When relationships fall apart; When true colors of friends come out; When your work life/career faces difficult times; When you are low in your spirit, and the devil takes advantage of that time and plays around with your mind every waking moment. When church doesn’t make sense anymore and the thought of going there just depresses you even more. When there is absolutely nothing to look forward to and no part of your life makes sense. And all of it happens all at one go!

I have learnt that when bad things happen in your life, that’s just God trying to get your attention, in order to really show you who God is. The first couple of weeks, I tried to get through this period in my own way. Read self-help books. Listened to motivational speakers , prayed a bit, cried to anyone who was interested in listening to my sob, pity-partying stories. But nothing was happening; nothing in my surroundings and in my inner spirit was changing. Until I listened to that still sweet voice of God say to me, “When am I getting my chance?” And then I surrendered. I went on a 21 day fast in December, IN DECEMBER! I remember telling a friend this and she said to me,” Fast ka dezemba boss ?? God must really being trying to get your attention.”

Of all the times that I have prayed and fasted, of all that I have really sought God in my life, of all the times that God has really spoken to me in my life, this was by far the most amazing, wonderful and life-changing experience yet.

He made me aware of certain people, friendships and relationships that I needed to let go, and I’m talking about people that in my own will and strength I didn’t want to let go. He showed me exactly what to do, who to call, where to go in order to step up in my work life and career. He told me what to do, where to go in my service and ministry to Him. He increased my finances and blessed me in a way that I could not explain it even to myself. He told me secrets that belong to only me and Him. He gave me a peace that was so amazing, that I would wake up in the morning and wonder if I was the only person left on earth.He set me apart and ordered my steps in such a way that I was overwhelmed, and I remember waking up in the middle of the night, one night and saying, “Oh Lord! It’s too much! I understand what you mean by exceeding abundance!” and He just said to me, “You aint seen nothing yet.”

I remember listening to David Odeyepo jnr. (The Bishops 1st born son) preach and he said “You are a spiritual being; therefore you are a supernatural. If you can live and explain your life naturally, you are not living your life supernaturally.” That was a BOOM! moment for me.
The lesson that this painful –turned- amazing short-lived period of my life taught me was that, GOD IS MY ALL IN ALL. I’ve always known this, but somethings we know cause we know them, not that we really know them (figure that one out). He taught me that I cannot rely on my job, He is my job. I cannot holly depend on friends, He is my Friend. I cannot totatly rely on church/church activities. He is my Church. I cannot rely on a boyfriend/husband. He is my Husband. I cannot find solutions anywhere else but in Him.

When you make Jesus your everything, things happen. Not always pleasant things, but ultimately all things work together for good. James said we should consider it pure joy whenever we face trials (James 1:2), but that is never easy. Jesus didn’t call us to an easy life. He called us to a changed life.

When we make a decision to be obedient to God, lay down our lives, and make Christ our focus, our everything, we pick up a cross God makes just for us. The Christian life is not about being happy. It’s about being filled with joy in spite of our circumstances. It’s about choosing to be obedient because we love God. It’s about spending time in the presence of God when our flesh would rather do something else.

Sometimes we have great times. These are the days we cherish. The ones we are to remember during those times that aren’t so great. These are the days for which we yearn. Other times are hard. We trudge through these times desperate for them to end—reaching out to God in our distress. Days like these keep us humble.

In summary – the Bible verse that I live by, my life mantra is Matthew 6:33. “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these other things will be added unto you.”
I like the way The Message version puts it, “Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

