Skip to content

PHYSICAL FITNESS vs SPIRITUAL FITNESS

March 12, 2015

spiritual-fitness-graphic-larger2

I love working out. I love physically challenging activities, and if there is one thing I don’t compromise on, it’s keeping and maintaining fitness. Not just to look good, but because it makes me feel good too. Most people focus on their health once it’s too late. I just love the feeling of feeling good.
So I have a proper training schedule. I have set days when I run, set days when I cycle, set times when I go to gym, and I try my best not to fault on these set time. I prefer to go to gym at lunch time, when it’s not full, and I don’t have to wait for machines, or share space with too many people. Plus, it invigorates me so that afternoons aren’t dreary and tiresome.
Today in particular (Thursday 12 March), I did not feel like going to gym. I was driving from a client meeting back to my office and I thought to myself, “It’s ok to miss one day girl… rest.” But I found myself driving straight to gym anyway. And I ended up having an awesome work out.
As I walked to the changing rooms after my work out session, I thought to myself, “Sheesh, I feel great! I didn’t feel like coming today, but that was great!” Immediately that soft still voice of the Holy Spirit said to me, “Imagine how you would feel if you did the same with your prayer time.” Selah. I literally stopped walking, paused and froze for a minute.
He’s the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. I have time scheduled for my prayer time as well. My alarm is set for 04h30 in the morning, in order for me to have my quite time at 05h00. (Yes, it takes time for me to actually wake up, I need to snooze it least 3 times before I’m actually awake). Sometimes… ok a lot of times, I snooze for about an hour and half, as I keep covering myself with the duvet and saying, “Yes Lord, I’m gonna get up now now and give you my undivided attention.” The next thing I know its 06h30 and I actually have to shower and get ready for work, and I hit Him with a, “ We’ll chat properly later” as I go about doing my thing also mumbling “Thank you Lord for the morning, I’m still alive, that means you’re done with me etc. etc.”
So that Selah moment at gym made me ask myself, “Why do I CHOOSE to be disciplined physically more than I choose to be disciplined spiritually? Why do I go gym, even when I don’t feel like it, but I don’t pray even when I don’t feel like it? Why do I think that the flesh (which is ultimately going to rot and be eaten my worms) is more important than my soul, which is going to live forever? It made me realize the real human nature of the human mind and body.
As I had conversations with the Holy Spirit about it, He made me realize the importance of the spirit move so over the flesh. Look exercise is good for the body, it makes you look 26 when you’re actually 40, but the spirit is so much more important, because as a matter of fact it has power over the flesh.
We are spiritual beings, having a human experience, and what we tend to do as humans is put that human experience and make it more important than the spiritual of which we really are.
It is not an easy thing for anyone to really understand the reality if being a spiritual being. You are not a body, you merely live in a body.” Okay, what does that mean you ask?” Itmeans you are both mortal and eternal, and you have an existence far beyond your personality, your ego, your self-appointed identity, and even your own mortality. That sounds really great, even poetic and magical, but life can be hard anyway. Let’s face it, we all experience the imperfections that come with the territory of being human. Oftentimes, we feel like tremendously limited, ordinary people who enjoy occasional moments of spirituality. It’s certainly not easy to practice spotless ways of living all the time so we’re sure to slip up and have days when our attitude is more than a little self-defeating. And that’s okay.
So why do we, those of us who are in Christ, have such a hard time living out this discipline? I think its due in great part to still seeing ourselves as “human beings having (or trying to have) a spiritual experience”, instead of “spirit beings having a human experience”. What will it take to get believers on the right track? A change of perspective – believing what God says we are in Christ.
1 Corinthians 2:12-14 tells us, “Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may know the things freely given to us by God, which things we also speak, not in words taught by human wisdom, but in those taught by the Spirit, combining spiritual thoughts with spiritual words. But a natural man does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually appraised.…”
Spend your time and energy in training yourself for spiritual fitness. Physical exercise has some value, but spiritual exercise is much more important for it promises a reward in both this life and the next. This is true and everyone should accept It.” Says Paul in 1 Timothy 4:7-9
It is also very important to take care of our spirit as much as we give attention to the flesh. How do you do this you ask? Get closer to God. Spend time with your Maker, get connected to Him.Have a closer relationship with God by speaking to Him through prayer. If reading the Bible is listening to God speak to us, speaking to God is accomplished through prayer. The Gospels often record Jesus secreting Himself away to commune with His Father in prayer. Prayer is much more than simply a way to ask God for things we need or want.

Having a closer relationship with God is also built upon a life of obedience. Jesus told His disciples in the upper room, “If you love me, keep my commandments” (John 14:23).

If physical care-taking can do so much for you physically, just imagine how much more spiritual care-taking will do for your soul. God loves you so much and He wants to have a personal, intimate relationship with you. If you want to have a closer walk with Him, you’ll need to make some changes and some of them will be challenging… like committing to the time that you spend with Him on a daily basis.

If physical care-taking can do so much for you physically, just imagine how much more spiritual care-taking will do for your soul. God loves you so much and He wants to have a personal, intimate relationship with you. If you want to have a closer walk with Him, you’ll need to make some changes and some of them will be challenging… like committing to the time that you spend with Him on a daily basis.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

